Jürg Frey

In much of Frey’s music, achingly Romantic harmonies drift to and fro, as if a Mahler Adagio were suspended in zero gravity. In the Second Quartet (1998-2000), bows barely touch the strings, and pitches are blurred by eccentric fingering. Minor-mode harmonies emerge, but they have a whispery, spectral character. . . . . — Alex Ross, “The Composers of Quiet,” The New Yorker


Fields, Traces, Clouds  

Works by Jürg Frey


Fields, Traces, Clouds  (2017)
Canones Incerti (2010)
Floating Categories (2015) 
Ensemble Ordinary Affects: 
Luke Martin electric guitar
Laura Cetilia cello
J.P.A. Falzone piano / vibraphone
Morgan Evans-Weiler, violin
Jürg Frey, clarinet